For many years, the Manitoba Association of Optometrists has presented scholarships to Manitoba students attending schools of optometry. These scholarships are fully funded by the members of the Manitoba Association of Optometrists and were named in recognition of the contributions of Dr. A. Harry Basman, a Manitoba optometrist and first Executive Director of the Association. Click here to read more about Dr. Basman.

The scholarships, in the amount of $1,500 Canadian for each optometric program year, are awarded to Manitoba residents attending optometric programs accredited or preaccredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). The selection of scholarship recipients is based on academic performance as well as extra-curricular, community, and volunteer participation. A minimum grade point average of 3.5 or 75% is required.

Applications must be submitted with current academic transcripts to the MAO office. The application deadline is indicated on the Application Form and is usually at the start of September each year. The decision on scholarships is usually made within approximately a month of the application deadline. If you are interested in applying for the Scholarship, the current Application Form will be posted below when it is available.


We are now accepting applications for the 2024-25 A. H. Baseman, OD Scholarships. 

Click here to download the application form (PDF)


Submit your completed Scholarship Application Form and official transcripts (in University-sealed envelop) to: 

Manitoba Association of Optometrists
217-530 Century St
Winnipeg, MB R3H 0Y4

Applications deadline is Friday September 6, 2024. 


ACOE accredited schools